Aug 24

Falling through the cracks or Just dropped there.

As someone with ADD I know about being misunderstood. At a young age I
discovered my difficulty of keeping my peachy folders organized with my
school work. Than there were the parent teacher conferences where the
comments "She is a nice girl, if only she could pay attention." I had a
love hate relationship with Math since around 6th grade. This was all in
my school life.

At home I was the trivia pursuit gal. I knew Bible, historical,
geographical, and pop art. I read books wanting to go to a world where I
was accepted. No need for math or neatness. I was my own person.

As a young adult I learned about how my mind was different. I couldn’t
believe that I was smart or even good at anything. I used my skills to
find my talents. My kindness was finally useful.

Now going into my 3rd year abroad I see things differently. Children
like me are labeled in their own way. Have a physical disability like
clubbed feet or missing parts? You get set aside or not even seen. You
are a beggar or worse nothing at all.

My mom volunteers at a rehabilitation community where patients come with
clubbed feet, polio, and various deformities. Those who stay on campus
are children healing from surgeries to help them. They look at her as a
hero because she knows what it’s like to be different. Look past the
wheelchair and the brace you see someone who faced the challenges head
on.

People can rise up from the cracks and say "Yes I can!" I am still
learning this. I have someone who reminds me that even with my quirks I
can still inspire someone dropped at that same crack.

11 thoughts on “Aug 24

  1. Hello there! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I
    truly enjoy reading your articles. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the
    same topics? Thank you!

    Like

  2. Hi everybody, here every person is sharing such experience, thus it’s pleasant
    to read this webpage, and I used to pay a quick visit this blog all the time.

    Like

  3. I really love your website.. Very nice colors & theme. Did you make this site yourself?
    Please reply back as I’m planning to create my own site and would
    like to find out where you got this from or
    just what the theme is named. Cheers! http://bing.org

    Like

Leave a Reply

