12/4/15

Dedicated to my grandmothers.

I come from a long line of women who wanted to help people who were in more need then them. When I listen to my parents tell stories about how they grew up I wonder if I could ever live up to their standards.

My maternal grandmother raised five children while in an unhealthy relationship with my grandfather. While he fought for his land (going as high as the Supreme Court of the land) she took whatever she had and left him to take care of their children. The second youngest was handicapped and told that no matter what she needed to get an education or else she would end up being a beggar. Her older three children went to school in their local town and when they graduated they worked and sent money home to help their mother take care of their younger siblings. By the time the youngest two got into secondary school their mother had a home of their own and a farm. She was self-sufficient and taught all her children to be the same. She even had enough to help other young people stay in her home and get an education from the local school. My grandmother taught all her children to love God and make a life for themselves and their families. We all love you and miss you Hadda Terfa.

My paternal grandmother raised eleven children. My father was the second from the eldest. She was the kind of woman who was a farmer and humanitarian. Her husband was known for his legal sense. He was also known for being outspoken in his neighborhood. I really don’t know a whole lot about my grandmother when my father was young he was sent to live with a distant relative of his father’s. It was a hard life because the family was a military family. I do know that when my father came home to visit his parents his mother doted on him. She was a pillar of the community that gave food to the poor from her backdoor. I love my grandmother for being a loving person to her family and the community. Rest in peace Akko.

💐💞💮🌹🌷👩

Mahlet S.

Leave a Reply

